Register for free

Register for free and view interesting profiles.

Questions? Call us: 0049 (0)40 / 87976140 | Mon., Wed. + Fri. 10:00 - 14:00h, Tue. + Thu. 14:00 - 18:00h |

Granny Ellen about her stay in Dublin

"On a personal level everything was as one could wish for"

My family consisted of an Irish mother (Engineer and violin player), German father (lecturer) and the twin boys then aged 18 to 21 months.

The family lived in North Dublin near a huge park with lovely playground. Behind the park you can reach the sandy Dublin Bay in about 30 to 40 minutes. Charming grandparents also live nearby. A stay in Dublin without the need to drive a strange car on the unfamiliar left side of the road is ideal.

On a personal level everything was as one could wish for. But one should not assume that everything will be plain sailing. As is normal for humans, my people also had their quirks and habits and a different view of upbringing than I do.
This doesn’t have to be a bother, if this is understood from the outset. The question is then only what the differences will be and if you can handle them.

From the outset I had said I am not looking for fixed and limited working hours but want to be integrated into the family. In this way I probably 'worked' more than had previously been referred to as needed. There was enough leisure time to explore Dublin and enjoy all cultural offers. Also I took advantage of all offered tours through Ireland.

Altogether the quarter year was a successful time. I still have contact to my family and will certainly see them again in Dublin or here.